Send to a Friend  Email Print  Print Back   Back
avastha  Term Image (avasthā) Script Image
(Language:  Sanskrit)
Alternate Spellings:
Short Description: state of consciousness
Long Description: state of consciousness; Vedānta distinguishes four planes of consciousness: (1) jāgrat (the waking state); (2) svapna (the dream state); (3) sushupti (the dreamless state of deep sleep); and (4) turīya ("the fourth," which transcends the three previous planes of consciousness).
Source(s): Lamp of Non-Dual Knowledge, Cream of Liberation Translated by Swami Sri Ramanananda Saraswathi
Notes & References:
Script Image
Related Terms:
Provided By: Dictionary of Spiritual Terms