Send to a Friend  Email Print  Print Back   Back
shatkasampatti   Term Image (ṣaṭsampatti) Script Image
(Language:  Sanskrit)
Alternate Spellings: satkasampatti, satsampatti
Short Description: The six great virtues: śama, dama, uparati, titikṣa, śraddhā and samādhāna.
Long Description: the six great virtues, namely (1) śama: control of the mind; (2) dama: control of the sense organs; (3) uparati: cessation of activities related to caste, creed, family etc.; (4) titikṣā: patient forbearance of suffering; (5) śraddhā: faith in the holy scriptures and trust in the spiritual Master (guru); and (6) samādhāna: concentration and contemplation upon the Vedāntic texts and the words of the spiritual Master (guru); one of the four prerequisites for qualification as a spiritual aspirant of Vedānta; see "sadhana-catushtaya (sādhanacatuṣṭaya)."
Source(s): Lamp of Non-Dual Knowledge, Cream of Liberation Translated by Swami Sri Ramanananda Saraswathi
Notes & References:
Script Image
Related Terms: sadhana-catushtaya
Provided By: Dictionary of Spiritual Terms