Send to a Friend  Email Print  Print Back   Back
yuga  Term Image (yuga) Script Image
(Language:  Sanskrit)
Alternate Spellings:
Short Description: Age; referring to the four ages of Hindu cosmology.
Long Description: Age; Hindu cosmology distinguishes four ages: Kṛta (or Satya) Yuga, Tretā Yuga, Dvāpara Yuga, and Kali Yuga, which correspond approximately to the Golden, Silver, Bronze and Iron Ages of Greco-Roman mythology; according to Hindu cosmology humanity is presently situated in the Kali Yuga, the "dark age" of strife.
Source(s): The Essential Ananda K. Coomaraswamy, by Ananda K. Coomaraswamy, edited by Dr. Rama P. Coomaraswamy
Notes & References:
Script Image
Related Terms:
Provided By: Dictionary of Spiritual Terms